Skip to content
Standby Generator Guide

Briggs & Stratton 040786: Exact-Model Standby Generator Guide

Manufacturer-linked guide to Briggs & Stratton 040786 covering 22 kW LP / 22 kW natural gas, fuel-use test points where published, sound conditions, price/package scope, warranty and source limitations.

Illustrative editorial image. Product and installation details must be verified for your specific project.
The essential briefing

Key takeaways

  • This page is tied to exact model 040786; values are not silently borrowed from another model in the same brand family.
  • 22 kW LP / 22 kW natural gas. Fuel-specific ratings and test conditions still do not size a home by themselves.
  • Manufacturer specifications describe the product; they do not prove field reliability, local service quality, installed price, or fit for a particular property.

Evidence & review transparency

What informs this guide

View all sources

Research draws on the linked documents below. Source checks do not establish independent testing, licensed professional review, or suitability for your home.

ManufacturerBriggs & Stratton PowerProtect model 040786 product page and specificationsManufacturerBriggs & Stratton model 040786 specification sheet
Technical professional review pending.How this guide is reviewed

Prepared by our editorial research desk using linked sources. No licensed professional signoff or hands-on testing is claimed. See the review process and what remains to be reviewed.

Sources, editorial method & limitations
  • Manufacturer statements are distinguished from independent facts and our editorial interpretation.
  • Linked sources are listed below; product details, laws, and utility requirements can change.
  • Source links on this page were checked Oct 4, 2026.
  • Estimates, when included, are labeled and are not quotes or guarantees.
  • We do not claim hands-on product testing, licensed review, or installation experience.
  • We do not accept generator-brand, dealer, or installer advertising or referral payments.
Editorial and corrections policy →
Explore sections
0

THE BUYER DECISION

Could Briggs & Stratton 040786 work for your home?

Documented output: 22 kW LP / 22 kW natural gas. The final choice depends on actual loads, starting demand and your chosen fuel.

Transfer equipment: Do not assume the price includes a compatible ATS. Require the exact switch and accessories on the proposal.

Do not buy yet if: the local installer cannot verify load fit, fuel delivery, commissioning, current warranty and service coverage for the exact model.

Not a recommendation to purchase or a tested field-reliability assessment. Missing manufacturer data remains unknown.

Exact-model snapshot

Briggs & Stratton 040786 — PowerProtect 22 kW Standby Generator. 22 kW on LP and natural gas; 120/240 V.

Manufacturer-published model snapshot for Briggs & Stratton 040786
Published standby output22 kW LP / 22 kW natural gas
EngineBriggs & Stratton Vanguard · 993 cc
Dimensions46.5 × 26.8 × 28.4 in (L × W × H)
Published weight465 lb
Electrical configurationNot established in current record
EnclosureNot established in current record
Manufacturer pageOpen exact product page

What stands out about this Briggs & Stratton record

  • The cited PowerProtect record publishes 22 kW on both LP and natural gas, unlike several selected competitors whose published output changes by fuel.
  • Its captured fuel-use figures are expressed in BTU/hr rather than gallons/hr or ft³/hr. Do not compare the raw numbers across units without explicit conversion assumptions.
  • The exact generator page does not establish an included transfer switch, so ATS scope should be confirmed separately in a dealer proposal.

Fuel-use data: keep load and units attached

The current source registry contains the following manufacturer-published test points. These are not a household fuel forecast; actual consumption changes with electrical load, fuel conditions, setup and runtime.

Published fuel-consumption points for Briggs & Stratton 040786
FuelLoadPublished consumption
Natural gas50%194,000 BTU/hr
LP50%217,000 BTU/hr

Sound data: mode and measurement conditions matter

  • 68 dB(A) — manufacturer-listed normal operating sound; measurement distance and test load are not stated on the cited page, measurement distance not stated in the captured source.

Manufacturer values are not an independent head-to-head acoustic test. Installation geometry, reflective surfaces, load and operating mode can change what a listener experiences.

Price, transfer-equipment scope and warranty

Starting price: $6,037 USD

Manufacturer-listed starting MSRP; not an installed quote. The product page does not establish an included transfer-switch bundle.

Transfer equipment: The cited generator product page does not state that a transfer switch is included; confirm the exact package in any dealer quote.

Warranty summary: Manufacturer lists a 7-year comprehensive limited warranty and says labor, parts, and service are included; check the warranty document for conditions and exclusions.

Load management: Exact module compatibility and included accessories not verified.

Monitoring: Exact monitoring hardware, connectivity and subscription terms not verified.

Cold-weather accessories: Exact accessory part numbers and operating conditions require manual verification.

Warranty hour limit: Only established where expressly included in the cited summary above; otherwise unknown.

A product-page MSRP is not an installed-project price. Site work, ATS/service equipment, fuel work, electrical work, permits, load management, accessories, commissioning and local labor can materially change the total.

Field-level source map

Published facts below are attributed to the cited manufacturer source. A product document is not independent performance evidence. Missing fields remain unknown.

Current evidence gaps: electrical, enclosure, ats, load management, cold weather, monitoring, warranty hour limit, full warranty exclusions, certifications not independently verified.

What the manufacturer sources do not prove

  • They do not establish field reliability or failure rate versus another brand.
  • They do not prove the quality or availability of local dealer/service support.
  • They do not size a specific home or prove that every desired load can run simultaneously.
  • They do not convert starting MSRP into a complete installed quote.
  • They do not make unlike sound-test conditions directly comparable.
  • They do not replace the current installation/operator manuals, local code, utility/fuel requirements, or a qualified property-specific assessment.

Questions to put beside this exact model in a quote

  1. Is 040786 the exact generator being supplied, or can the contractor substitute another model?
  2. Which fuel and published standby rating are being used in the load analysis?
  3. What exact ATS / transfer-equipment model is included?
  4. Which load-management modules or accessories are included?
  5. Which current warranty documents apply to the generator and ATS?
  6. Who performs commissioning, scheduled service and warranty repairs locally?
  7. Which site, fuel, electrical and permit items are excluded or allowances?

Planning estimates disclaimer

These are planning estimates. Always check appliance nameplate for exact values. Hire a licensed electrician for final sizing.

Trace the evidence

Sources & further reading

Evidence record

2 linked sources · Source-check date:

Source checks establish what a document states. They do not establish independent performance or site suitability.

  1. 01
  2. 02
    Briggs & Stratton model 040786 specification sheet

    Manufacturer · Link checked 2026-10-04

Manufacturer specifications and regulatory requirements may change. Check the current official documents and consult qualified local professionals before committing to a system.